The National Assembly of the Gambia is headed by the Speaker of the National Assembly working closely with the Clerk appointed by the President who serves as the head of the entire Parliamentary Service responsible for handling all administrative matters under the charge of the parliament. .

The National Assembly has consists of fifty eight (58) sitting members of whom 5 are nominated by the President to sit in the parliament representing the differently abled and underrepresented groups. Parliamentarians representing each constituency serves a 5-year term subject to reelection.